Drivers throughout New Orleans are required to carry insurance before they legally operate a vehicle. Unfortunately, drivers do not always follow these regulations. Some drivers get behind the wheel without insurance, which may cause major problems if they subsequently cause an accident.
In this situation, a New Orleans uninsured motorist lawyer from the Morris Bart law firm may be able to help you secure compensation for your losses. We can investigate your case and determine who to pursue for your damages.
While in most cases not carrying auto insurance can limit your ability to be compensated in the event that you are involved in an accident, we also may be able to represent car accident victims who were not carrying insurance at the time of their accident. An experienced personal injury attorney would be able to determine an accident victims’ legal options under such circumstances
The Morris Bart law firm helps accident victims in the New Orleans area. For a free consultation with a member of our team, call us today at (504) 613-4771.
Laws on Motor Vehicle Insurance in New Orleans
Legally, anyone driving on Louisiana roads must carry insurance. According to Louisiana Revised Statutes (RS) §32:900, drivers must have an automobile policy that provides the following minimum amounts of insurance coverage:
- At least $15,000 in personal injury coverage for one person
- At least $30,000 in personal injury coverage for multiple injured parties
- At least $25,000 in property damage for one accident
Drivers who operate a vehicle without insurance may face criminal charges and may be ineligible for compensation if they are a victim of an accident. However, this may be of little comfort to you if you were struck by a driver who does not have insurance.
For a free legal consultation with a Uninsured Motorist Accident lawyer serving New Orleans, call 800-537-8185
You May Recover Compensation through Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Louisiana automotive insurance policies include Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage. This type of coverage is designed to provide compensation to victims who are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. This form of insurance also helps cover victims in the event the other driver is underinsured for the damages suffered in their accident (UIM).
However, insurance companies offer attractive, lower rates for policy-holders who choose to waive their uninsured motorist coverage. While the lower cost might seem like an attractive option, we strongly advise against waiving Uninsured Motorist coverage from your car insurance.
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), around 13% of Louisiana drivers were driving uninsured in recent years. This translates into over 1 in 10 drivers potentially leaving multiple accident victims uncompensated for their damages, including medical expenses, lost wages, inconvenience, mental anguish, pain suffering and damage to their vehicles.
If you were the victim of an accident in New Orleans with an uninsured motorist, a lawyer from the Morris Bart law firm may be able to help you file a claim with your insurance company. Note that, sometimes, insurance agents may try to deny your claim after a collision with an uninsured driver, even if you have the proper forms of insurance. We can also help you dispute an unfairly rejected claim with your insurance company.
New Orleans Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-537-8185
Other Options to Resolve an Uninsured Motorist Accident
If you were struck by an uninsured driver and you do not carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist insurance, you may have other options to secure compensation for your losses.
While it is less common, it may be possible to seek compensation for your injuries and damages. An experienced New Orleans uninsured motorist lawyer from the Morris Bart law firm will be able to determine what legal options may be available to you.
To discuss your case and your legal options in a free consultation with a member of our team, call the Morris Bart law firm today at (504) 613-4771.
Types of Injuries Caused by Uninsured Motorists
Depending upon the severity of your accident, you could end up facing:
- Broken bones or fractures
- Internal injuries or crushing injuries
- Injuries to your head, brain, neck, or spine
- Burns, abrasions, and lacerations
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
All of these injuries should be taken seriously. You could seek medical attention immediately after you are struck by an uninsured motorist. This may allow you to get your injuries diagnosed and treated and can also create evidence in your medical record to demonstrate that your injuries were a direct result of your collision.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Compensation in an Uninsured Motorist Accident Case
In successful uninsured motorist claims, you may be able to recover the following damages in a personal injury lawsuit:
- Ambulance services and emergency department treatment
- Medical expenses, both current and future
- Property damages
- Lost wages or reduced earning capability
- Pain and suffering
- And more
If your loved one passed away in an uninsured motorist accident, you may be able to recover a different set of damages in a wrongful death lawsuit.
Call Morris Bart, LLC Today
We understand that an accident caused by an uninsured driver can be frustrating and stressful. When you work with a New Orleans uninsured motorist lawyer from the Morris Bart law firm, we may be able to handle all aspects of your case while you concentrate on your recovery. This may include:
- Answering your question and providing legal advice
- Investigating your accident and identifying the liable party
- Determining who to pursue for compensation
- Hiring accident reconstruction and medical experts to testify in your defense
- Handling all communications, deadlines, and paperwork
- Negotiating with insurance companies for a settlement offer, if applicable
- Taking the responsible party to trial, if necessary
In most accidents in Louisiana, you have a limited period of time to take action. A one-year statute of limitations, or legal time limit, may pertain to your ability to file a personal injury lawsuit in Louisiana, per Louisiana Civil Code (CC) §3492. If a lawsuit is not filed within one year of the date of the accident, you will be ineligible for any settlement or judgment.
To learn more about what legal options you may have, call us today at (504) 613-4771 for your free consultation with a member of the Morris Bart law firm. We handle all cases on a contingency-fee-basis with no up-front payment necessary. We only get paid if you successfully receive a settlement or judgment.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.