Texting While Driving – a Dangerous Habit
When it comes to texting and driving, it can wait. Wireless provider AT&T, seeking to bring attention to a serious road safety problem, urged all Americans to pledge to stop texting while driving and to join with others on September 19th to make a lifelong commitment to never do so again.
AT&T, its employees, and other supporters are calling on all drivers to go to www.itcanwait.com to take the no-texting-and-driving pledge and then share their promise with others via Twitter (#itcanwait) and Facebook. The pledge effort is part of the company’s public awareness campaign aimed directly at stopping the dangerous practice of texting while driving.
More than 500,000 no-texting-while-driving pledges have been logged through ItCanWait.com, social sites including Facebook, text-to-pledge and events.
For a free legal consultation, call 800-537-8185
Texting While Driving Leads to Auto Accident Injuries
AT&T Chairman & CEO Randall Stephenson, citing a statistic from the National Safety Council, said, “More than 100,000 times each year, an automobile crashes and people are injured or die while a driver was texting and driving.” A new survey commissioned by AT&T as part of the “It Can Wait” campaign indicates that while 97 percent of teens know texting while driving is dangerous, 43 percent of them admit to sending a text while driving, and 75 percent say the practice is common among their friends.
AT&T‘s “It Can Wait” public awareness campaign is focused on a simple, powerful message: No text is worth dying for. And, I’m sure there is an injury or accident attorney in New Orleans who could personally attest to that simple, yet profound, slogan. AT&T plans to spend tens of millions of dollars on the campaign in 2012 and has made it an ongoing commitment in future years.
Texting While Driving Illegal In Louisiana
Our state has already been aware of the dangers of texting while driving. Texting while driving is illegal in Louisiana. A new law banning texting while driving took effect in 2010 in Louisiana. This means a police officer can pull you over if they see you texting. The first violation is punishable by a fine of up to $175. Repeat offenders can be fined $500, and the amount doubles if the driver is involved in crash.
Will you take the pledge to never text and drive?
to find a Morris Bart office near you.