When you go out bar hopping with friends, rideshare services provide a safe method of transportation. However, Uber and Lyft drivers are subject to the same mistakes other drivers may make. Since rideshare drivers use a mobile app, they may be even more likely to be involved in collisions.
If you were injured in a car crash as an Uber or Lyft passenger, you may have questions about your rights and rideshare liability. A Texarkana Uber and Lyft rideshare accident attorney can explain laws that apply to your case. We may be able to recover damages for your losses.
Recoverable Damages After a Texarkana Rideshare Accident
While we cannot assign a value to your case before discussing the details, there are multiple expenses you may expect to recover. Our Uber and Lyft rideshare accident attorneys in Texarkana have handled similar cases in the past. You may be eligible for damages, such as:
- Ambulance transportation
- Medical treatment
- Post-op treatment
- Prescription drugs
- Assistive devices
- Lost wages
- Diminished earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
For a free legal consultation with a Uber and Lyft Rideshare Accident lawyer serving Texarkana, call (870) 330-4155
Rideshare Accidents and Wrongful Death
Unfortunately, a traffic collision may result in fatalities. If you lost a loved one in a rideshare accident, you may be able to file a wrongful death lawsuit. This would allow you to recover damages, including:
- Cremation or burial expenses
- Medical debt you inherited after your loved one’s death
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of support and protection
- Loss of benefits
- Loss of consortium
Texarkana Uber and Lyft Rideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me (870) 330-4155
Who Is at Fault in a Rideshare Collision?
Arkansas is not a no-fault state. The person responsible for causing your collision can be held liable for their negligence that caused your injuries. For example, if you were in a car wreck with a commercial delivery truck, the company may be liable.
Parties who may be responsible for losses include:
- The Uber or Lyft driver
- The Uber or Lyft driver’s personal auto insurer
- Uber or Lyft’s rideshare insurance
- Another driver involved in the wreck
- A passenger who distracted their driver
- A bicycle rider or pedestrian who interfered with traffic
Confusion Regarding Rideshare Accident Liability
Uber and Lyft don’t employ their drivers the same way most companies do. Their drivers work as independent contractors. They use their personal vehicles to transport passengers. Arkansas requires drivers to carry auto insurance, including:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability coverage: $25,000 per person
Rideshare drivers also have auto insurance provided by Uber or Lyft. Confusion regarding liability may arise when determining when each insurance policy is in effect. An Uber and Lyft rideshare accident attorney in Texarkana can help you determine liability and which insurer is financially responsible.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
How a Texarkana Uber and Lyft Rideshare Accident Lawyer Can Help
Seeking damages after a rideshare collision can be difficult. Uber and Lyft drivers are independent contractors, not company employees. If a driver behaves negligently, they may try to avoid responsibility. When you work with a lawyer from our law firm, we can:
- Launch an independent investigation
- Obtain police reports or surveillance camera footage
- Determine which party is liable
- Seek a settlement for the full amount you deserve
- Negotiate with Uber or Lyft representatives
If a settlement amount cannot be agreed on, our Uber and Lyft rideshare accident attorneys in Texarkana will not hesitate to take your case to court.
Arkansas Statute of Limitations
Anyone injured in a Texarkana car crash is subject to the Arkansas statute of limitations. You have up to three years from the date of your accident to file a lawsuit. Your case may take longer to resolve but you must file within this time limit or risk losing your opportunity to seek damages.
Call Morris Bart, LLC for a Free Case Review
Call us 24/7 to schedule your free consultation with a Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer in Texarkana. Morris Bart, LLC has experience with rideshare accident cases and we know the complications you may encounter. There’s no need to handle your case alone.
We work on a contingency-fee basis. Our clients don’t pay any up-front fees or out-of-pocket expenses for our legal services. We only get paid when we win your case.
Questions?Call (870) 330-4155
to find a Morris Bart office near you.