Car accident injuries can lead to expensive medical treatments, lost wages, and mental anguish. Surviving family members of fatal car accident injury victims experience significant emotional and future losses, as well.
If someone else caused your injuries or loved one’s death after a wreck, contact a car accident attorney in Texarkana to protect and assert your rights during the claims process. You have the right to receive compensation equal to the harm you experienced.
Why Do I Deserve Compensation After a Crash?
Auto accident injuries can have long-term effects that are expensive to manage and treat. While money does not restore you to normal, it does compensate you for the harm and subsequent costs that another caused you.
Personal injury compensation helps you pay for expensive medical treatment, lost wages, and many other costs related to your accident. A skilled car accident injury attorney has your interests at heart and uses their legal knowledge to fight for every penny you’re eligible to receive.
For a free legal consultation with a Car Accident lawyer serving Texarkana, call 800-537-8185
Compensation Is Available to Arkansas Car Accident Injury Victims & Survivors
If a negligent driver injures you, you are entitled to restitution under Arkansas Code Ann. (A.C.A.) § 16-64-120. A Texarkana car accident attorney will help you navigate the complexities of these statutes while negotiating for your settlement or case.
What sorts of compensation are available to you? It depends on the facts of the case. Compensation types include:
- Current medical costs
- Future medical care
- Physical therapy
- Lost work wages, for time missed
- Pain and suffering
- Wrongful death damages
- Punitive damages
- Lost enjoyment of life
- And more, as recoverable
To recover these damages, your Texarkana car accident lawyer must prove:
- The other person had a duty to act safely toward you; and
- He or she breached this duty by acting recklessly or carelessly; and
- These actions caused your accident injuries; and
- You suffered current and future financial losses
The compensation amount you could receive will vary on a case-by-case basis. To estimate the value of your claim, turn to a personal injury lawyer at our firm for legal advice related to your specific situation.
Texarkana Car Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-537-8185
What if the Other Person Blames Me for My Accident?
Some injury victims believe they cannot receive compensation because they were partly to blame for the car accident. Avoid making this assumption since it is not entirely accurate. Identifying the correct at-fault party is critical.
However, fault may lie with more than one party, which can make things more complicated. Arkansas is a modified comparative negligence state under A.C.A. § 16-64-22, which means you can still recover compensation as long as the other party is over 50 percent at fault.
For example, if the other driver is 70 percent to blame, then you receive 70 percent of the compensation award. However, if you are 50 percent to blame, you may not be able to receive a financial award whatsoever.
How to Deal With Insurance Companies
If you suffer severe injuries in a car accident, you will need to answer questions from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. If the driver is uninsured, you may have to negotiate with your insurer instead.
The most vital thing to remember about these negotiations is that the insurance adjuster is not looking out for your interests, even if it’s your own. Keep in mind that they work for the insurance company, which is a business and ultimately needs to turn a profit. Their goal is to pay out less money than they generate.
The first offer you get from an adjuster is often inadequate and, most times, will not cover the costs for all of your injuries, emotional losses, and future harm. Let a personal injury attorney in Texarkana do the talking during negotiations. We know how to use the law to get a fair settlement for your case.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
You Have a Time Limit to Take Legal Action in Arkansas
Every state imposes a statute of limitations, or legal time limits, on car accident injury cases. If you miss the deadline, then you may no longer have a right to file a claim.
Under A.C.A. § 16-56-105, the general statute of limitations is three years from the date of your accident injuries in the state of Arkansas. Other deadlines apply to wrongful death and product liability matters.
Three years seems like an eternity. Still, it goes by fast, especially if you are trying to recover from catastrophic injuries. For this reason, it is beneficial to take legal action sooner rather than later.
How Can I Help My Lawyer?
Lawyers do a lot of work behind the scenes for your case, but you can improve your chances by doing some of this work yourself. Bringing certain things to your consultation will help your lawyer out a lot, like:
- Photos of your injuries and the accident scene
- Police reports
- Medical records from the doctor that treated you
- Communications from insurance companies
- A record of your experiences after the crash
With good evidence, a lawyer can give you a better estimate of your chances and what kind of compensation you could receive. However, don’t spend too long gathering information before speaking with a lawyer. Time is of the essence.
Contact Morris Bart, LLC for a Free Consultation
Were you injured in a car accident? Concentrate on making a recovery from your injuries. A Texarkana car accident lawyer at the Morris Bart law firm will handle everything else. We are here to give you the guidance and resources you need to get your life back on track.
Even if you aren’t sure whether or not you want to file a claim or if you’ll be eligible, it’s worth getting a free consultation. You are under no obligation to work with us, and we are happy to answer your questions about your legal options.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.