There are several ways to get a copy of the report police filed for your Louisiana traffic accident. This includes:
- Contacting the agency that responded to the scene
- Requesting a copy online or in-person
- Having a personal injury lawyer request it for you when managing your insurance claim
The law enforcement officer who came to the scene will file a report about the incident, including what happened, where, when, and who was involved. After the accident iIt may take up to a week or more before the report is available.
You Must Identify the Agency That Responded
It is important to remember or identify the law enforcement agency that responded to your accident. You will need to know if it was the state police or a local municipal police department to obtain your report.
In some cases, a police officer on the scene will give you information about requesting a copy of the report. They may also provide you with their contact information so you can ask about this process later.
If you do not know who responded, you may need to search online or contact the local police department to learn more. Generally, interstate accidents are handled by Louisiana State Police while local departments handle other crashes, but this is not always the case.
For a free legal consultation, call (800) 537-8185
You Can Contact the Responding Agency to Learn More
The law enforcement division that responded to your accident will have its own process for obtaining a traffic crash report. Many local police departments allow you to pick it up at the headquarters or have informational numbers to call.
For example, police in the City of Baton Rouge and East Baton Rouge Parish have reports available ten days after the accident. Victims can request their reports by mail or in person. They are $7.50. You can learn more by contacting the Traffic Records Division at (225) 389-3839.
In New Orleans, victims can contact the Records and Identification/Support Services division online or at (504) 658-5455.
Reports for accidents handled By Louisiana State Police
When the Louisiana State Police respond to a crash, you can visit the agency online to search for and request a copy of your report. You may be able to download your report as soon as ten days following the accident, but it could take two weeks or longer.
You will need one of the following to search and retrieve the report:
- The case number
- The driver license number of someone involved
- The license plate number of any involved vehicle
- The last name of one of the parties
You can pay for your download online with a credit or debit card. Reports are $11.50.
Why You May Need a Police Report
Police reports of a traffic collision may go by different names depending on the agency involved. Other names include:
- Car accident report
- Car crash report
- Incident report
- Traffic accident report
These reports generally play an important role in insurance claims and civil suits based on crashes. They can serve as a neutral, third-party opinion of what happened and why. They also include many details necessary to moving forward with a case, such as:
- The people involved and their contact information
- The insurance companies and related information
- Eyewitnesses and how to reach them
- The make, model, and year of each vehicle
- When and where the accident occurred
- If anyone violated a traffic law or received a ticket
Some police reports also include additional details about the crash, such as photographs of the vehicles, a survey of the area, and more. Accident reports also include the responding officer’s determination of what happened and who caused the collision. While this is not irrefutable, it can provide much-needed support for an insurance claim or lawsuit.
Building a Car Accident Case in Louisiana
If you work with a personal injury attorney from our firm to file your insurance claim, we can request your police report for you. We will also investigate the crash and gather additional evidence that could include:
- Statements from eyewitnesses
- Video or photos
- Accident reconstruction
- A survey of the accident scene
- Physical evidence
- Your relevant medical reports
- Documentation of your expenses
These items help our team to build a solid case for negotiating an appropriate payout with the at-fault driver’s insurance company. Alternatively, you may need to go to trial and ask the judge to award compensation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Speak with an Attorney Today to learn More
The Morris Bart law firm offers complimentary case reviews for car accident victims. There is a limited time to act in these cases, so call us today to discuss your rights, legal options for compensation, and the strength of your case. We may be able to help.
The longer you wait, the less time our team will have to collect vital evidence and file your case on time. You can reach us now by dialing (800) 537-8185.
Questions?Call (800) 537-8185
to find a Morris Bart office near you.