Texting while driving is already fully banned in 41 states, and banning social media is soon to follow. An attempt to ban posting to Facebook, Twitter and other social media sites while driving is nearing final passage in the Louisiana Legislature. The proposal, approved by the House Transportation Committee, is designed to close what lawmakers call a loophole in the state law that prohibits texting and driving to reduce car accident injuries. The Senate-approved bill would add accessing, reading and posting to social media sites to the prohibition. It heads next to the full House.
Livingston Sen. Dale Erdey, the sponsor of the bill, says he’s trying to cut down on distracted driving and improve public safety by reducing car accident injuries. Erdey said that after being pulled over, many drivers told police they were not texting – they were posting to Facebook or Instagram or Twitter.
Teen Drivers Likely to Have a Texting and Driving Habit
Texting is the number one way teens report socializing with their friends; it is a prevalent technology that presents constant dangers because of the “here and now” draw. However, according to a Pew Research Center report on texting and driving issued in February, the number of people using social media increased from 8 percent in 2005 to 83 percent in 2012. An Internet tracking survey conducted by the center indicated 40 percent of cell phone owners use a social networking site on their phone.
For a free legal consultation, call 800-537-8185
Tougher Laws Deter Teens from Texting and Driving
An online survey on texting and driving by AT&T in April shows the biggest deterrents for teens when deciding whether to send or read texts while driving are tougher laws and fines and license suspension. 71% said a fine of $500 would stop them from texting and driving, while 72 % said license suspension would make them stop posting to social media while driving. Thirty-four percent of the teens said an effect on having or getting a scholarship if they continued to text while driving would be a deterrent. If Louisiana bill is passed into law, violators would face a fine up to $175 for the first offense and up to $500 for second and subsequent violations.
Contact Morris Bart About Your Car Accident Injuries
If you have been involved in a car accident injury with a distracted driver, please contact the personal injury attorneys at Morris Bart, LLC Attorneys at Law today. We offer a free case evaluation with our personal injury attorneys, who will review the details of your case and advise you on the best approach to getting the compensation you deserve for your car accident injury.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.