Car insurance laws vary from state to state. Two key differences are the minimum insurance requirements and the consequences of not having valid insurance. In Louisiana, we have a “no pay, no play” law. This law is designed to encourage people to purchase the legally mandated liability insurance.
According to Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” policy, uninsured drivers who are injured in a car accident have limits on the amount of damages that they can recover. They would not be able to collect the first $15,000 for damages related to bodily injury. Also, they cannot claim the first $25,000 for property damage.
Does the “No Pay, No Play” Rule Apply to Your Case?
If you have been injured in an accident and would like to know if the “no pay, no play” policy applies to your case, call Morris Bart, LLC. If you have a legitimate claim, then you may be entitled to compensation to pay for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages.
In general, the policy only applies if you are injured and are uninsured. However, there are some exceptions to this rule, as listed below.
For a free legal consultation, call 800-537-8185
Exceptions to the “No Pay, No Play” Law
Exceptions to the rule mainly have to do with intentional or egregious negligence on the at-fault driver’s part. Examples include:
- Intending to cause the wreck
- Driving drunk and being convicted of violating La. R.S. §14:98
- Causing the accident while committing another felony, such as fleeing police
Another situation that could constitute an exception to the “No Pay, No Play” policy is when the at-fault driver flees the scene. This is commonly called a hit-and-run accident. If you are injured in such a case, you may still be able to pursue compensation even if you are uninsured, provided the at-fault driver is found and brought to justice.
Why Louisiana Has a “No Pay, No Play” Policy
According to DMV.org, the cost of auto insurance in Louisiana is high compared to other states. In fact, it ranks second in the nation – just behind Michigan. The reason for these high premiums is simple: More than 10% of Louisiana motorists are uninsured. This is why legislators introduced the “no pay, no play” policy – to encourage more drivers to purchase auto insurance.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Do You Need Liability Insurance or Full Coverage?
In Louisiana, drivers do not need full insurance coverage. If you have liability coverage for your car and the policy is compliant with the state requirements, then you can claim against the negligent driver’s insurance company.
Under these circumstances, it is not necessary to file a claim with your own insurance provider.
The “no pay, no play” policy is just one of many laws that govern personal injury cases. Understanding these laws can help you avoid mistakes and potentially speed up the process of recovering damages.
Can You Still Get Compensation If You Are Uninsured?
Even if your case doesn’t fall into the category of the above-listed exceptions, you can still seek compensation. However, the “No Pay, No Play” rule means that the first $15,000 toward your bodily harm and the first $25,000 toward your property damage are your responsibility.
Imagine you have suffered a severe injury that leaves you with $1 million in damages, for example. You would have to pay the first $15,000 (and the first $25,000 to replace your damaged property), but you could still pursue compensation from the at-fault driver for the more than $900,000 in additional damages you suffered.
Skilled attorneys in Louisiana are aware of the “no pay, no play” policy and know how it applies to a variety of situations. Get help today so that you aren’t stuck with the bill just because you didn’t have the right insurance coverage.
Speak with Louisiana Car Accident Lawyers Today
If you have been injured in a car accident, call Morris Bart, LLC. We can handle the legal side of your wreck so you can focus on recovery. To schedule a consultation with one of our personal injury lawyers, call our 24-hour attorney hotline.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.