If you were in an accident and did not have insurance, fault still matters. If the other driver caused the crash, you can likely still recover compensation for your damages. However, you will also face the consequences for not carrying the mandatory auto liability coverage in your state.
Some states, including Louisiana, may limit your financial recovery due to the penalties you face. You can still seek and recover compensation, but you will not receive the documented value of your case.
You Will Likely Face Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
Even if you did not cause your traffic collision, you will likely still face consequences related to breaking the law. Depending on your state, this could include paying a fine, having your license suspended, or other penalties.
The penalties you could receive for driving without liability insurance get more intense with repeated offenses. For a first offense, examples of the consequences you could face include:
According to the Alabama Department of Revenue, a violation of the state’s Mandatory Liability Insurance law could cost you up to $500 for a first conviction. A second conviction could double the fine and include a driver’s license suspension, as well.
Under Ark. Code Ann. § 27-22-103, the fine for not having insurance or a certificate of self-insurance is between $50 and $250.
According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI), the fines for not having auto liability insurance in the required coverage amounts fall between $500 and $1,000. Additional penalties could include a driver’s license suspension, impounding your vehicle, revoking the car registration, or pulling the license plates.
Following a collision, you could face a license suspension of up to six months.
According to the Mississippi Insurance Department (MID), you could face a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, a one-year driver’s license suspension is possible.
For a free legal consultation, call (800) 537-8185
What If You Caused the Accident?
If you caused an accident but do not have liability insurance, you may be liable for the damages any victims suffered out of your own pocket. This could cost you thousands of dollars, and the court could seize your assets to pay the claimant. It is never worth it to drive without auto liability coverage.
The fees you will face because of the criminal penalties will be a small fraction of the damages paid in a civil case. This is true even when the injuries and damages are relatively minor.
You May Want to Speak to an Attorney About the Criminal Penalties You Could Face
If you have concerns about facing a driver’s license suspension, fines, or other penalties following a crash where a police officer cited you for not having the required insurance, you may want to speak to a criminal attorney.
Your personal injury lawyer can offer some general advice based on their experience in this area. Still, they will not be able to represent you and fight these charges in criminal court in most cases.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
In Some States, Not Having Insurance Could Affect Your Fault-Based Claim
Some states penalize drivers who do not carry the mandatory auto liability insurance when they seek compensation for an accident that another driver caused. For example, Louisiana has a “No Pay, No Play” law. This law prevents uninsured drivers from recovering the full value of their claim in any collision. The limits in Louisiana prohibit these drivers from getting:
- The first $25,000 of property damages
- The first $15,000 in personal injury compensation
If this type of law applies in your case, your personal injury attorney can explain how it will affect your financial recovery and if there is anything you can do to counter it.
A Car Accident Attorney Can Help You Understand Your Insurance Claim
You can talk with our car accident law firm about your case today for free. We will explain your options for compensation based on your state’s laws related to uninsured drivers. We may also be able to file an auto liability insurance claim based on the at-fault driver’s policy and secure a financial recovery or sue the driver and ask the judge and jury to award just compensation.
Recoverable damages could include:
- Medical treatment, including future care needs
- Lost income and diminished ability to earn a living
- Car repairs and other property damages
- Pain and suffering
Morris Bart, LLC, Has an Attorney Who Can Help with Your Case
You can talk to us for free today to learn more about how an attorney with our firm can guide you in exploring your legal options. A lawyer serving one of our 15 locations across the Gulf South may be able to help you. We handle claims for drivers in Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, and Mississippi.
Call the Morris Bart law firm now at (800) 537-8185 for your free consultation with a representative from our legal team.
Questions?Call (800) 537-8185
to find a Morris Bart office near you.