You can get a copy of the police report after your Shreveport, LA, crash by requesting it from the responding law enforcement agency. You will need to determine who handled your accident and follow that agency’s instructions. Agencies responding to most Shreveport collisions include:
- The Shreveport Police Department
- Caddo Parish Sheriff
- Louisiana State Police
Your insurance company or personal injury lawyer may also obtain the accident report as part of managing your case. Working with a car accident lawyer from our firm can help you focus on healing from your injuries while their team handles chores like this.
Requests for Police Reports Go Through the Responding Agency
Each law enforcement agency has its own process for requesting and obtaining a police report following an accident. In most cases, these are available seven to 10 days after a crash, although it can take longer. There is usually a charge to get a copy of your report.
Shreveport Police Department
Accident reports from the Shreveport Police Department are available online. You can request your report by entering one of the following:
- The report number, available from the responding officer
- Your last name and the crash date
- Your last name and the street where the accident occurred
The portal automatically populates the state and jurisdiction. You can pay for your report using a credit or debit card.
Caddo Parish Sheriff
The Caddo Parish Sheriff offers in-person pickup of crash reports from numerous locations across their service area. This includes:
The Caddo Parish Courthouse
501 Texas Street Shreveport, Louisiana 71101
- Telephone: (318) 226-6835
- Hours: Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Cash and credit cards are accepted
North Market Substation (Cash Only)
4910 North Market Shreveport, Louisiana 71107
- Telephone: (318) 681-1100
- Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Only cash is accepted
The cost of a report depends on its length and severity of the accident. Prices include:
- Property damage or injury accident two pages or less: $5
- More than two pages: $8
- Fatality accident: $15
Louisiana State Police (LSP)
The Louisiana State Police uses an online portal to allow accident victims to search and request crash reports. It may take up to 15 days for these reports to be uploaded into the system, and there may be up to a week’s wait before you receive the file.
Many people, however, can download their reports within minutes. The cost is $11.50; you can pay online using a credit card. You will need either the incident report number or your name, the location of the accident, and the date LSP filed the report.
For a free legal consultation, call (318) 553-5470
Your Attorney Can Obtain Your Police Report on Your Behalf
If you hire a lawyer from the Morris Bart law firm to navigate your claims process, we will request your accident report as a part of the investigation into your crash.
The details included in the police report will also help us identify and gather additional evidence to support your claim, such as:
- Talking to witnesses to the accident
- Analyzing what happened
- Identifying all potentially liable parties
- Determining the area for a survey of the scene
- Working with accident reconstruction specialists
The police report will also include who the responding officer believes caused the crash and if they issued citations. This can be very helpful in proving to the at-fault driver’s insurer that their policyholder was negligent and liable.
This could increase the chances of negotiating a fair settlement, presenting a strong argument at trial, and recovering a civil judgment.
Our Law Firm Can Also Manage Many Other Parts of Your Claim
In addition to getting the accident report and gathering other evidence, an attorney on our team can make the claims process easier for you. This includes protecting your rights and managing all aspects of your legal case.
We will build support for a just insurance settlement or develop a strong legal claim for compensation based on damages that include:
- Your current and future medical costs
- Lost income and reduced earning ability
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Wrongful death damages, when applicable
Our team can also ensure you meet all necessary deadlines if we know about your case in time. We encourage you to connect with us as soon as possible after your collision injuries.
What Other Evidence Could You Use in Your Car Accident Case?
Other than the police officer’s report, useful evidence in your case might include:
- Accident scene reconstruction
- Photos and videos of the accident
- Your medical records
- Any bills, invoices, or receipts you have collected related to the crash
- Statements from witnesses to the accident
- Statements from expert witnesses
After your lawyer gathers the police officer’s report and other evidence, they can determine how much compensation you could recover in your case.
Don’t Hesitate to Gather Evidence or File Your Case
You should not wait too long to collect the evidence you need to prove your case. Working with an attorney right away could benefit you because they can collect evidence on your behalf while you heal from your injuries. Certain evidence is time-sensitive, so you will want to gather it before you lose access to it.
You should also file your lawsuit on time. In Louisiana, you only have one year to file your case, per La. Civ. Code Art. 3492. If you miss this deadline, you may not recover compensation. It’s best to get started as soon as you can to avoid missing your chance for financial recovery.
Morris Bart, LLC May Be Able to Help With Your Shreveport Car Accident Case
Our team at the Morris Bart law firm may be able to collect your police report and other evidence to pursue compensation for you in your case. Our contingency fee firm will review your case for free today.
Call the Morris Bart law office in Shreveport, LA now to get started with your consultation. You can discuss your car accident with a member of our team for free.
Questions?Call (318) 553-5470
to find a Morris Bart office near you.