Generally, you can get a police report by requesting it from the responding law enforcement agency. You will need to know which agency handled your crash in order to request a copy of this report.
The law enforcement agencies that most commonly handle traffic collisions near Mobile include:
- The Mobile Police Department
- Alabama Highway Patrol
In addition, your auto insurance carrier or your personal injury attorney will be able to obtain a police report on your behalf.
Requesting Your Crash Report from the Mobile Police Department
Crash reports prepared by the Mobile Police Department are available by mail, in person, or online. No matter which way you request your copy, the fee is $10, and you will receive the report via email within two days.
You will need to know the report number or the location of the accident to request your report.
You can send a request by mail or visit in person at:
Mobile Police Department Records
2460 Government Blvd.
Mobile, AL 36606
You can reach the Records Department by calling (251) 208-1700 if you have questions.
For a free legal consultation, call (251) 298-8380
How Can I Get a Report from the Alabama Highway Patrol?
You can get documents that an Alabama Highway Patrol trooper filed by accessing the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency web portal. The cost is $17 per report, and the portal accepts credit and debit cards.
You should not try to obtain a copy of your accident report until at least 10 business days after your collision.
You will need some or all of the following information to request your report:
- Driver’s license number
- Your name
- The crash report number
What Happens After I Submit My Request?
After you submit your online request and it is processed, you will receive an email that contains your crash report number, receipt, and other information, as well as your report. You can view your file for seven days after you access it the first time.
Your Attorney Will Likely Request Your Crash Report for You
If you have a car accident law firm on your side, it will take the steps necessary to get your report and gather other evidence to support your claim.
The evidence in a car accident case could include:
- The crash report
- Witness statements and interviews
- Physical evidence from the accident
- A survey of the accident scene
- An accident reconstruction
- Relevant medical records
- Expert testimony
- Proof of damages
This could allow the attorney to seek just compensation for their client based on the economic and intangible damages they suffered. Some common examples include:
- Pain and suffering losses
- Medical bills, current and future
- Lost income
- Diminished earning capacity
- Related expenses
- Property damages
Wrongful death damages may be available if your family member died from their traffic accident injuries.
You have a limited period to prepare your claim, seek a payout, and decide if you need to sue the at-fault driver. Alabama generally gives most drivers only two years to file a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit. However, some people have less time. If you are not sure how much time you have left, we can let you know.
Why do I Need My Crash Report After a Mobile Car Accident?
Your accident report will include information crucial to building your case and filing your claim. This includes details about:
- The other driver
- Their insurance coverage
- The vehicles involved
- The accident scene
- What happened
- Who caused the accident
- Who witnessed it
- Any citations issued
It may be the only way for you to learn the at-fault driver’s identity and determine who their insurer is. It will also allow your lawyer to contact witnesses, provide information to accident reconstruction experts, and survey the scene. They may be able to locate video of the crash based on the location listed in the report.
The report itself often serves as essential evidence to support an insurance claim, as well. You will need to prove the other driver acted negligently and is liable. The report may show they violated traffic laws and received a ticket.
Morris Bart & Associates, LLC, May Be Able to Help with Your Mobile Car Accident Case
You can speak with an attorney from the Morris Bart law office in Mobile today for free. We may be able to help with your collision case, including requesting the police report and gathering other evidence.
We have more than 40 years of experience representing accident victims. We are a contingency fee law firm.
Call (251) 298-8380 today for your complimentary consultation with an attorney from our team serving Mobile.
Questions?Call (251) 298-8380
to find a Morris Bart office near you.