You have a few options for getting a police report for your Lake Charles car accident. This includes accessing the report online, picking it up in person, or working with an attorney who will handle the process for you.
Accident reports often play a central role in proving fault and liability in a collision case, allowing victims to recover compensation through an insurance claim and settlement.
Requesting an Accident Report From Lake Charles Police
According to the City of Lake Charles, the Lake Charles Police offers two ways to request a police report: in-person or online.
Visiting the Lake Charles Police Headquarters
You can request a report filed by a Lake Charles Police officer by visiting their headquarters at 830 Enterprise Blvd., in Lake Charles. You can reach the Records Division by phone at (337) 491-1456 Ext. 5354.
They are open Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Only you, someone else involved in the accident, your attorney, or your insurance company can request these records.
The Lake Charles Police charge $7.50 per report and only accept cash or a check.
Visiting the Online Portal to Request Your Report
Lake Charles Police partner with LexisNexis Crash Reports to offer online access to these documents. You can pay via the web portal with a credit or debit card. However, your insurance company or a local personal injury attorney likely already has a prepaid account and can handle this for you.
To request your report, you need information that includes:
- Your report number
- When the accident occurred or the date of the report
- Where the collision occurred
- Your last name or the name of another driver
For a free legal consultation, call (337) 377-0514
Requesting Your Accident Report Online From the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office
The Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office (CPSO) also offers a web portal to request reports. You can access it from the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office website.
If you need help or do not have some of the necessary information, you can call the CPSO Records Department by dialing (337) 491-3642. Obtaining a crash report is $7.50.
Getting Documents From the Louisiana State Police (LSP)
LSP often responds to interstate accidents and collisions on major highways. If they handled your crash, you can use their web portal to locate and request your police report. To do this:
- Visit Louisiana State Police
- Enter your case number; or
- Enter your name and information about when and where the incident occurred
- Pay with a credit or debit card
- Check your email for information about downloading your report
It could be 10 to 15 days after a collision before the report is finalized and uploaded. It could also take up to a week to receive the file after your request, although some are almost immediate.
The cost for your report is $11.50.
If You Have an Attorney, they Can Obtain Your Police Report for You
Personal injury lawyers and their teams regularly request police reports and other documents for their clients. If you are working with a law firm, they will likely handle this process on your behalf. Additional paperwork and records may be necessary to support your claim as well. For example, they may need your relevant medical records and employment records, as well.
All of this paperwork is part of the investigation necessary to prove:
- The other driver was careless or reckless
- They are liable for your crash and injuries
- You suffered harm, and there is an appropriate payout amount
This could allow your attorney to negotiate a fair settlement agreement on your behalf. Your recovery could include money for a range of expenses and losses, including:
- Medical treatment
- Future care costs
- Property damages
- Lost wages and diminished earning ability
- Additional expenses
- Pain and suffering
Your lawyer will represent your best interests throughout the claims process or if your case needs to go to trial. This includes protecting your right to take legal action, managing communications about your case, ensuring you meet all applicable deadlines, and more.
There is only a limited time to take legal action in a Lake Charles car accident case, and this may be necessary to secure compensation in your case. Most victims only have up to a year to file suit. Some have even less time.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Morris Bart, LLC, Will Review Your Accident Case for Free
The Morris Bart law firm may be able to help with your Lake Charles, LA, collision. We may be able to recover compensation for your injuries and expenses. We are a contingency fee personal injury firm.
You can speak with an attorney from the Lake Charles team today by calling (337) 377-0514. Our case reviews are free for victims and their families.
Questions?Call (337) 377-0514
to find a Morris Bart office near you.