Want to hit the open road on the two wheels of a motorcycle in the state of Mississippi? Before you drive off into the sunset, get to know some important Mississippi laws and safety regulations.
You Must Be Licensed to Operate a Motorcycle
If you live in Mississippi, get a Mississippi motorcycle endorsement. According to Mississippi Code Annotated §63-1-6, no person shall drive or operate a one without first obtaining an operator’s license that includes a motorcycle endorsement.
In order to obtain an endorsement, you must first hold a valid Mississippi driver’s license. Then you can get a temporary permit. After further testing and inspection of your bike, you can obtain a four- or eight-year endorsement.
For a free legal consultation, call 800-537-8185
You Must Be Properly Equipped
Follow these rules if you want to stay compliant with Mississippi’s motorcycle laws:
- Every motorcycle MUST be equipped with at least one, but no more than two, headlamps that comply with the levels of lighting required by all motor vehicles. (MS Code Annotated §63-7-13)
- Every motorcycle must be equipped with at least one brake, which may be operated by hand or foot. (MS Code Annotated §63-7-51)
- No person shall operate or ride any motorcycle unless wearing a crash helmet that complies with the minimum guidelines of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration pursuant to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218. (MS Code Annotated §63-7-84)
You Must Follow All Safety Guidelines
The state of Mississippi takes motorcycle safety seriously. In fact, if a person purchases a motorcycle from a retailer, Mississippi law requires that $50 of the amount paid for the bike goes to the Mississippi Trauma Care Systems Fund.
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety requires riders to know and follow the safety guidelines in the Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s Motorcycle Operator Manual.
Want to read more about how to avoid an accident? Check out this article from Ride Apart about common causes of motorcycle accidents and how to avoid them. You can also take a look at these motorcycle safety tips.
If you have been the victim of a negligent driver in an accident in Mississippi, you may want to talk to a Gulfport motorcycle accident lawyer to learn more about your legal options.
How Old Do You Have to Be to Have a Motorcycle License in Mississippi?
You can get a motorcycle permit in Mississippi when you are 15 years old, provided you can show proof that you are enrolled in school. To get a motorcycle permit when you’re 14, you must also show proof that you’re enrolled in your high school’s driver’s education program. You can get a motorcycle license when you are 16.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
What Is a Class R License in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, a Class R license is a regular license that every driver must acquire. For motorcycle riders, in addition to the Class R license, you must also receive what is known as a “motorcycle endorsement.” This document shows that you have completed written and riding tests that show that you know the laws and can safely ride.
If you are riding a motorcycle in Mississippi but your motorcycle license is from another state, you may be able to waive the written and driving test requirements.
What Are the Mississippi Motorcycle Helmet Laws?
You are required by law to wear a helmet any time you ride a motorcycle in Mississippi, and your passengers are, too. One way this state’s helmet laws differ from many other states is you are not required to wear a helmet if you are riding a bicycle. Even if it’s not legally required, wearing a helmet is the safe and sensible choice any time you ride.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.