A serious car accident can happen at any time, and it can have life-changing consequences that affect your health, well-being, and family’s financial security. According to research from Data Reports, injury crashes are becoming more common in Louisiana. There were 100 injury accidents and 1.43 fatal wrecks per 100 million miles traveled in Louisiana in 2015.
This represents an ongoing increase in crashes in the state since 2011, and projected figures suggest that the pattern will continue into 2017. Injuries and fatalities in auto accidents can lead to financial ruin, which is why drivers in Louisiana must carry minimum insurance coverage:
- $15,000 for bodily injury coverage per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury coverage per accident
- $25,000 for property damage coverage
Unfortunately, many drivers do not carry insurance. The people they injure could face overwhelming medical expenses, lost income, and other damages. If you were injured by a negligent driver in Louisiana, contact Morris Bart, LLC. A Monroe injury lawyer will evaluate your wreck to determine if you have grounds for a claim.
If the at-fault driver did not have insurance, we can explain your legal options. You may be able to recover compensation by filing a lawsuit against the liable party, or by making a claim against your own insurance agency.
Our firm has more than 50 attorneys and a support staff of 100 law professionals, and we will aggressively fight for the maximum settlement on your behalf. Call 800-537-8185 to schedule a free initial consultation. Until then, read on to learn about four types of auto insurance in Louisiana:
Comprehensive and Collision
According to Investopedia, collision insurance is vehicle-specific coverage that pays for property damage that your car sustains in an auto accident. Comprehensive insurance will cover damage that your vehicle sustains in other incidents such as fire, theft, lightning, and fallen trees.
For a free legal consultation, call 800-537-8185
Property Damage Liability
This coverage pays for property damage to other people’s vehicles if you cause an accident. In Louisiana, you must carry at least $25,000 of property damage coverage.
Bodily Injury Liability
Much like property damage liability, this type of insurance is a requirement in most states. It pays for injuries to other people if you cause an accident. Bodily damage liability usually covers medical expenses, lost wages, and some noneconomic damages. It follows the policyholder regardless of the vehicle he or she is driving, but it is important that you verify this with your insurance company.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Personal Injury Protection
Personal injury protection pays for medical expenses and lost wages that you or your passengers endure after an accident. PIP coverage is “no-fault” insurance, meaning that it will pay regardless of who caused the wreck. If you were injured by a negligent or reckless motorist, contact a Louisiana accident attorney from Morris Bart, LLC.
Our legal team will help you avoid mistakes such as accepting a low settlement, signing a general release, or admitting fault to insurance adjusters. Schedule a free consultation today by calling 800-537-8185.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.