Car insurance serves a crucial method of protection for all road users, but many people fail to understand how it can benefit them if they cause the accident or are an innocent victim. Car accidents can be traumatic events, and they also tend to be costly. Aside from expensive property damage, many people who sustain injuries struggle to pay medical bills, and the injuries often force victims to take time off work while recovering, which is equally expensive.

Most states have some form of insurance requirement, but it differs from state to state. If you intend to drive on Alabama roads, it is important to keep the state insurance laws in mind. If you sustain injuries or cause a crash, this information may prove invaluable.

At Morris Bart, LLC, we can help you with the legal process following an accident that resulted in a serious injury. If you were in a collision that was not your fault, give us a call for advice, and we may be able to help.

We can evaluate the circumstances surrounding the crash and establish if you may have grounds to claim for compensation. If successful, you could receive damages for medical expenses and lost wages, which you can use to recover from your injuries and start getting your life back on track.

To speak to a Mobile personal-injury attorney about your crash, call us today at 1-800-537-8185. We will schedule an appointment and then commence the process of evaluating your accident.

Here are important factors to keep in mind regarding Alabama’s insurance laws:

Rationale behind Minimum Car Insurance in Alabama

According to Alabama.gov, state law requires that drivers have a minimum amount of insurance. Liability insurance is important for all road users because it covers at-fault drivers for medical expenses and property damage in the event of a crash.

This means that if you cause the accident, your liability insurance will cover up to your insurance limit of the other driver’s damages. The law will also offer equal protection toward you if you sustain injuries due to another driver’s negligence.

Minimum Insurance Levels

According to Alabama state law, all drivers must have at least $25,000 coverage in the event that one person sustains injuries in an accident. When more than one person sustains an injury, the law requires the driver to have $50,000 in coverage. The minimum property damage coverage is $25,000.

If your claim exceeds the minimum amount of insurance that the other driver has, you may need to seek a legal remedy. At Morris Bart, LLC, we can help you with this process.

Call us today at 1-800-537-8185 to schedule an appointment to find out if you may have a valid car accident claim. A Mobile personal injury lawyer can help you understand the various legal procedures and examine the details of your crash to determine if it may be beneficial to claim for additional medical expenses or lost wages.

May 28, 2015 | Categories: Auto Accidents, Legal Tips |