Are you the parent of a teen driver who was injured in a car accident? A phone call from your teen telling you that they have been in an accident is a frightening event. You can help them take steps towards recovery and possible financial compensation for their losses.
When a teen driver is injured in a car accident, they might not be aware of all the steps they should take to recoup the cost of the accident. As the parent of a teen driver, you can help ensure your son or daughter gets the compensation they may be entitled to based on the facts of their case.
Your teen driver may be eligible for compensation for their accident-related injuries. Call the Morris Bart Law Firm today at (504) 613-4771 to connect with a member of our legal team.
Car Accidents Are the Top Cause of Death for Teen Drivers
When your teen driver is involved in an accident in Luling, it can lead to serious injuries for your teen and their passengers. In 2017, there were 3,255 fatal driving accidents that involved teen drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. When a teen driver is injured or killed in a car accident, it affects the entire family.
As the parent of a teen driver, you can help protect their driving record and your family’s finances. Your teen may be entitled to have their accident-related expenses covered by the at-fault driver. Contacting a Luling teen driving accident lawyer as soon as possible after the accident can help with the process.
Seek Immediate Medical Attention for Your Teen Driver Following an Accident
Your teen can sustain serious injuries in a car accident. Some common auto accident injuries that might have a long-term impact on your teen driver’s physical health include:
These injuries can create a change in your teen driver’s cognitive skills, their ability to learn, and their ability to care for themselves. They can change your teen’s future and the future of your entire family.
If your teen driver sustains these injuries in a car accident, a Luling teen driving accident lawyer may be able to help. Call the Morris Bart law firm at (504) 613-4771 to discuss your teen’s immediate and ongoing medical care and how we may be able to build a claim to hold the reliable party or parties responsible.
For a free legal consultation with a Teen Driving Accident lawyer serving Luling, call 800-537-8185
Louisiana’s Graduated Licensing Program Protects Teen Drivers
The state of Louisiana is committed to protecting teen drivers and reducing the number of teen drivers who are killed in car accidents each year. Even if a parent teaches a teen to drive, the state requires a minimum of 30 hours of classroom education along with a minimum of eight hours of driving experience. These requirements must be met in order for a teen driver to qualify for the Graduated Licensing Program.
Driving permits and licenses are issued to teens in three phases designed to ensure they receive a combination of practical and realistic driving experience. The three licensing phases include:
- A Learner’s Permit: issued to teens who are at least 15 years old and have completed the required classroom and behind-the-wheel driver courses. Teens must have and keep this initial permit for six months before applying for an initial license.
- An Intermediate License: issued to teens who are at least 16 years old and have held a permit, have at least 50 hours of driving experience (including driving at night), and have passed a road skills test. An intermediate license offers greater freedom to your teen driver but still has certain helpful restrictions attached.
- A Permanent License: issued to teens who are at least 17 years old and have met all the requirements above. Your teen driver must maintain an accident-free driving record and not have any convictions or violations on their record.
If your teen is involved in an accident at any phase of their licensing process, contacting a Luling teen driving accident attorney could help them understand their rights.
Luling Teen Driving Accident Lawyer Near Me 800-537-8185
Warn Your Teen About Specific Driving Dangers
Teen drivers can take certain steps to ensure they always practice safe driving. Of course, every driver and passenger should be secured by their safety belt at all times. Your teen driver should also avoid driving after your state’s curfew restrictions or with more than one passenger at a time.
Additional actions your teen can take to remain focused and alert while sharing the road include:
- Participating in Louisiana’s Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program.
- Avoiding driving distractions like talking, texting, or browsing social media.
- Avoiding drinking or using drugs while driving.
- Avoiding driving when drowsy.
- Avoiding driving recklessly or ignoring traffic signs and signals.
If your teen driver avoids these dangerous practices and is involved in an accident with another driver, call a Luling teen driving accident lawyer to explore your teen’s rights and their potential for financial compensation.
Injured Teen Drivers in Luling Are Entitled to Financial Compensation
Your teen driver has the same financial compensation options following an accident that an adult driver may be eligible to receive. If you are the parent of a teen driver who was injured in a car accident, the at-fault driver can be compelled to pay your teen’s medical bills and other accident-related expenses.
Your teen driver can have their medical bills and property damage expenses paid without financially impacting your family. Talk to a member of our legal team today by calling the Morris Bart law firm at (504) 613-4771 to discuss the details of your child’s case. The initial consultation is free, and there is no obligation.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.