If you suffered serious injuries in a car crash in Arkansas, you may be entitled to compensation to pay for your medical bills and the damages you suffered. The at-fault driver’s insurance company, however, may make you an offer that doesn’t fully compensate you for your losses.
A Little Rock car accident attorney can help you determine a fair settlement and negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. If a settlement can’t be reached, we are prepared to represent you in court. We can help you learn more about your legal rights.
How to Seek Compensation After a Car Crash
If you suffered an injury in a car accident, you have a few options to seek compensation. You can file an insurance claim or initiate a car accident lawsuit against the at-fault driver. Our team can help you with either route.
The other driver’s insurance company may contact you with a settlement offer after the accident. However, this amount may not truly reflect your injuries, long-term prognosis, and the costs associated with your recovery. You do not have to accept the initial settlement offer.
A car accident attorney in Little Rock can help you negotiate with the insurance company of the negligent driver. If, however, the insurer does not offer you a fair settlement, your attorney can file a car accident lawsuit and represent you in court.
For a free legal consultation with a Car Accident lawyer serving Little Rock, call 800-537-8185
Is It Worth Getting a Lawyer for a Minor Car Accident?
Even if your car accident was minor, you may still benefit from hiring a lawyer. Our car accident lawyers in Little Rock can help you by taking over the legwork involved in your case. We can gather evidence and negotiate with the insurance company.
We will work toward a fair settlement to compensate you for property damage, medical bills, and any reduction in your quality of life. If the insurance company is not willing to offer you a fair settlement, we can explore all your legal options, including taking your case to court.
Additionally, Arkansas drivers are subject to the modified comparative negligence rule. This rule may reduce your settlement amount or bar you from receiving compensation. Hiring a lawyer protects your best interests.
What Is the Average Settlement for a Car Accident?
The average settlement for a car accident is about $21,000. Factors that will affect your settlement include how severely you’re injured and if you expect to fully recover. Your case may be worth more than average.
If you suffered multiple injuries, your case may result in a higher settlement. Some of our real case results include:
- $450,000 for a client needing lower back surgery
- $475,000 for neck, back, and shoulder herniations
- $852,845 for a case with neck and back pain and hip surgery
These are just a few examples of real car accident settlements our law firm successfully won for our clients. Our team can review your case for free in a no-obligation consultation to estimate the value of your case.
Types of Damages You Could Recover After a Car Accident
While every accident is different, there are a number of damages you may be eligible to recover through your claim. Damages you may recover include:
- Out of pocket medical bill you already paid
- Future medical bills
- Lost wages
- Reduction in quality of life
Our car accident attorneys in Little Rock may also be able to recover additional damages related to your accident. Our team can study the details of your case to determine what type of recovery you may be entitled to receive.
Arkansas Car Accident Statute of Limitations
Arkansas is a fault state so you have a legal right to compensation if a negligent driver causes an accident that injures you. However, you have a limited time to take action. Arkansas Code Annotated section 16-56-105 allows you to file your lawsuit within three years of the collision.
Common Acts of Negligence
After a collision, law enforcement officers will investigate the scene. They may issue the at-fault driver a traffic ticket, which you and your attorney could use to show that the other driver acted in a negligent manner, and their actions led to the crash and your injuries.
To bring a lawsuit against another driver after a crash, you will need to show that the other driver’s negligence caused the accident and that the driver could have taken actions to avoid the accident.
Disobeying Traffic Laws
If the other driver was speeding, changed lanes recklessly, or ignored a traffic signal, this may have created the situation that led to your accident.
The other driver must have a proper driver’s license for the vehicle they were driving. For example, the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) requires that drivers of trucks carry a commercial driver’s license. Failing to follow state laws related to motor vehicle operation shows negligence on the part of a driver.
If the other driver is texting on a smartphone, eating in the car, or talking to passengers, he or she may be in violation of the state’s distracted driving regulations as laid out by the Arkansas State Police.
Drivers in Arkansas who violate the state’s driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws can be found negligent in an injury car accident. Any driver found with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher can be charged with DWI.
Additionally, if the driver has a blood alcohol limit of between .05 percent and .08 percent, and police determine the driver’s impairment led to the accident, he or she may still receive a DWI charge.
A Little Rock Car Accident Lawyer Can Work on Your Behalf
A Little Rock car accident lawyer understands the effects a car accident may have on you and your family. The team at the Morris Bart law firm can handle the legal aspects of your case so you can concentrate on healing from your injuries.
Contact our team today for a free review of your case. Our team works on a contingency-fee basis, so upfront costs will not stand in your way of quality legal care.
to find a Morris Bart office near you.