No tragedy can match the devastation of losing a child in a car accident. Unfortunately, motor-vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and injury to children in the United States.
As the American Automobile Association explains, the most effective way to keep your child safe on the road is to use the appropriate car seat. These can reduce the risk of death by 28 percent and the risk of injuries by 71 percent to 82 percent compared to using seat belts alone.
Although there should be no debate about whether or not to use a child seat, the laws that govern their use vary from state to state. Knowing Louisiana’s laws related to car seats can help you avoid a citation, and following them may improve your child’s safety in the event of a crash.
If the worst happens and you or your child sustains an injury due to another person’s negligence, contact an accident attorney from Morris Bart, LLC in Alexandria. Our personal-injury lawyers will evaluate your case and guide you through the claims process.
Call 800-537-8185 today to schedule a free consultation. In the meantime, read on to learn about child car seat laws in Louisiana:
Louisiana Child Car Seat Laws
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, if you are driving with a child in the state of Louisiana, you must adhere to these laws:
- Children from birth to 1 year old who weigh less than 20 pounds: Rear-facing convertible or infant seat.
- Children aged 1 to 4 years old who weigh up to 40 pounds: Forward facing in a combination or convertible car seat. Louisiana laws require that the seat has an internal harness.
- Children aged 4 to 6 years old who weigh up to 60 pounds: Belt-positioning booster seat.
- Children aged 6 years or older, or more than 60 pounds: Lap-shoulder belt or belt-positioning booster seat. Your child should also be at least 4 feet 9 inches tall for this option to be safe.
Children up to the age of 12 should always ride in the back seat, regardless of their size or weight. Young children are vulnerable in the front seat due to airbags and other hazards.
Penalties for Breaking Child Car Seat Laws in Louisiana
If you are convicted of breaking a child safety seat law in Louisiana, you will have to submit a Child Restraint Affidavit to prove that you have purchased an appropriate child car seat. You will receive a notification from the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections that you have a 30-day allowance to acquire a car seat and submit the affidavit.
If you do not send the affidavit within 30 days, your driver’s license will be suspended until you submit a notarized affidavit demonstrating that you acquired an appropriate child safety seat.
If you or your child suffered an injury due to another person’s negligence, contact Morris Bart, LLC. An Alexandria accident attorney will evaluate your case, gather evidence, structure your claim, and handle settlement negotiations on your behalf. Call 800-537-8185 to schedule a free consultation with our personal-injury lawyers in Louisiana.