According to research by Louisiana State University, nearly 3 million motorists drive on the state’s roads each year. As such, it is important that all drivers do their part in keeping the streets safe.
Many people view traffic laws as an inconvenience, but the reality is that these rules improve the safety of all road users. Breaking these laws often constitutes negligence, and if you were in an accident with a negligent driver, then you may be eligible for compensation to pay for medical bills, lost wages and other expenses.
Car crash injuries are an unfortunate reality for many motorists. If you were in an accident, Morris Bart, LLC may be able to help.
A Baton Rouge personal-injury lawyer from our firm can evaluate your case to determine if you may have grounds for a claim. Call us today at 1-800-537-8185 to schedule a consultation.
In the meantime, read on to learn about three important Louisiana driving safety laws:
- Seatbelt Laws
According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, all passengers and drivers in Louisiana must wear safety belts. If you fail to adhere to the Louisiana seatbelt requirements, then you may have to pay a fine.
There is a specific law in Louisiana that handles seatbelts and children. According to the Child Occupant Seatbelt Law, adults must restrain children between the ages of 6 and 12 years old in an acceptable manner. This includes a lap belt and shoulder harness, and if necessary, a booster seat.
- Cellphone Use and Texting Laws
Louisiana laws prohibit new drivers from using cellphones while behind the wheel. These include drivers who have a learner’s or intermediate license. According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers who violate this law will face a fine of up to $175.
There is also a statewide ban on using cellphones and tablets while driving. The law prohibits sending, writing or reading texts, regardless of the driver’s age or experience level.
There are specific laws regarding cellphone use within school zones, as well. According to Louisiana state laws, it is illegal to make a phone call, text or use social networks for any reason while driving through a school zone. The only exception to this law is if you need to make a call to report an emergency, your life is in danger or you are using a phone to help avert a criminal act.
- Headlight Laws
In Louisiana, drivers must turn on their lights between sunset and sunrise, or when there is low visibility due to poor weather. You must also turn on your headlights if your windshield wipers are in uninterrupted use.
If you ride a motorcycle in Louisiana, then you must equip your bike with a headlight, and it must be on at all times – even during the day.
If you were in a car crash, contact a Baton Rouge personal injury attorney from Morris Bart, LLC. We can evaluate your accident to determine if you have a legitimate claim for damages. To schedule a consultation, call our office today at 1-800-537-8185.